St. Colmcilles GAA Club, Pairc Ui Rís, Piltown, Bettystown, Co Meath 0877441731

Summerhill conceded home advantage to get this match played before the championship which allowed St Colmcilles to make the most of the home venue to record their first Div. 1 victory.

Played in good conditions, the result remained in doubt throughout. The Cilles opened the scoring with a point from Donal Meagher. Summerhill responded with two points before a goal from Donal put St Colmcilles back in front. Two further Summerhill points leveled the match. The next four scores went to the Cilles with a goal and point from Eoin O’Neill 1-01, a point from Ciaran Kelly, and a second goal from Donal Meagher to put eight points between the teams. Summerhill responded really well to score three points to leave the half time score 3-03 to 0-07 for the home team.

Summerhill continued chipping away at the deficit from the beginning of the second half with two more points that reduced the gap to three points. A Cilles point from Ciaran Kelly stemmed the rot but a fortunate goal for Summerhill left only a point between the teams. A point from Mark Whearty which extended the Cilles lead again was pegged back by Summerhill. Two further points from Ciaran Kelly and Eoin O’Neill were also matched by three points by Summerhill to level the game. Another point from Ciaran Kelly put the Cilles ahead again only for it to be cancelled out again by Summerhill. The Cilles finished the scoring with two further points from Ciaran Kelly and Donal Meagher completed the scoring with a fine point.

Both teams will have benefited from these run out which was played in a good sporting manner throughout. A competitive game provided a great run out for a number of players returning from injuries or getting their first game time of the season.

St Colmcilles: Lee Browne, Fearghal Walsh, Shane Crilly, Eoin Sweeney, Daragh Brodigan, Joe Sweeney, John McKenna, Sean Collier, Ruairi O’Grady, Con Gordon, Donal Meagher (2-02), Danny McMahon, Eoin O’Neill (1-02), Ciaran Kelly (0-06), Jake Hanson. Subs: Shane Towey for McMahon, Mark Whearty (0-01) for McKenna, Ian Mullen for Brodigan, Lee McGuinness for Hannon.

Referee: Cormac Reilly