St. Colmcilles GAA Club, Pairc Ui Rís, Piltown, Bettystown, Co Meath 0877441731

B League Division 1


St. Colmcilles 5-10: Donaghmore/Ashbourne 2-11.


The Cilles returned to winning ways after this tough match played in wet and windy conditions in Seafield. The Cilles cause was not helped when a strong Don/Ash start put them 2-03 to one point ahead  inside the first ten minutes with the Cilles  point coming from Luke Brady. Pointed frees from Eanna Walsh and Eoin O’Neill began the Cilles fightback. A goal bound Luke Brady shot came back off the crossbar and after claiming the rebound Don/Ash moved the ball neatly up the pitch to score a fine point. Another point from Eanna, followed by a fisted goal from Ferdia Quigley and a Gary McCloskey point left only two points between the teams. The gap stretched to three again with another point. A point from Stephen Breen from a 45 was answered by another Don/Ash point. A point from Eanna and another Ferdia goal put the Cilles ahead for the first time on the stroke of halftime. With the weather deteriorating at a fast rate the half time score was St. Colmcilles 2-07: Donaghmore/Ashbourne 2-06.


The second half began with Don/Ash leveling the game with a point. A further two points were shared to leave the game level. An Eanna Walsh goal put the Cilles back in front where they stayed for the remainder of the match. The Cilles hit a purple  patch with  goals from Luke Brady and Ewan Coughlan and points from Eoin O’Neill, and Gary McCloskey in response to two Don/Ash points. A concerted effort by Don/Ash to reel in the Cilles met with brave resistance  from the Cilles defenders leaving the final score at St. Colmcilles 5-10: Donaghmore/Ashbourne 2-11.


Great credit is due to both teams for serving up some wonderful football in the conditions which provided some great scores. The heart, effort and fight shown by the Cilles players against a strong and talented Don/Ash team has to be commended. The turnaround from the dreadful start showed the determination and character of this group who will look forward to the next round.


St. Colmcilles: Lee McGuinness; Eoin Sweeney; FearghalWalsh; Darragh Brodigan; Hugo Collins; Stephen Breen (0-01); Lee Browne; Ian Mullen; Luke Brady (1-01); Ewan Coughlan (1-00); Eanna Walsh (1-04); Ross Molloy; Eoin O’Neill (0-02); Gary McCloskey (0-02); Ferdia Quigley (2-00). Subs: Brian Mullen for Ross Molloy; Ross Molloy for Eoin O’Neill; Eoin O’Neill for Ewan Coughlan.