St. Colmcilles GAA Club, Pairc Ui Rís, Piltown, Bettystown, Co Meath 0877441731

LMFM Minor Championship Division 1 –Round 5  Piltown 12th October 2019

Venue : Pairc Ui Ris   Referee: Liam Reddy

Full Time: Ratoath 1-14 to Colmcilles 2-12                             Half Time: Ratoath 1-08 to Colmcilles 1-08

Never say Die.

On a clear day they say you can see forever, however the welcome Autumn sunshine and blue sky in Piltown was of no great assistance in identifying a clear winner throughout this hard fought final round of the LMFM Minor football championship. This Ratoath team arriving in Piltown knowing full well that nothing less than a win would be good enough to keep them in the competition knockout stages. Referee Liam Reddy acquitted himself well in a hotly contested and by times bruising encounter.

Ratoath powered into the first half the strongest, at one stage leading by 7 points. The Cilles lads rode out Ratoath’s purple patch though to finish the half strongly and were always still well in the game.

The second period saw Ratoath take everything the Cilles boys threw at them. St Colmcille’s second half team play, stamina and work rate excelled. Once more, this teams collective energy and their innate refusal to die in the face of adversity being the defining quality of the group. Both teams traded hard-won scores throughout the half. Right into the last quarter of play, it was anybody’s guess who would claim the spoils. Further into the time Liam Reddy saw fit to add on, a winner was still very difficult to predict. Both teams had chances to seal a result in the closing minutes and seconds, but it was the Colmcilles boys who took control and held their nerve to get the result which ensures a semi-final on the 22nd October TBC.

Skryne also progress from our group 1A.

Our opponents still to be confirmed as group 1B is now at three-way playoff stage.

St Colmcilles:

Jakub Kula, Matthew Weir, Liam Stafford, Caolan Nulty, Cian Flynn (C), John Power, Sean Collier, Mark Harris, Endy Ehichoya, Ben Wilde, Ciaran White, Adam Daly, Godfrey Ehichoya, Cillian Quigley, Luke Hanan, David Bell, Sean ODonoghue, Sean Warmenhoven, Sean Horan, Ben Maguire.